Contact Us

Use the form on the right to contact us. You can also reach us via email, Facebook, or Twitter.



United States

Meromorph Games is a game company, and the creator of the card game Norsaga.

KS campaign image 11e.png

FAQ

Frequently asked question about The Shipwreck Arcana.

Frequently Asked questions

Q: If the group has an ability (such as the faded power “Twice”) that allows more than 1 prediction during a turn, does each incorrect prediction incur the doom penalty?
A: No. If any of the predictions are correct, the entire prediction is treated as correct.

Q: What if I play a fate in front of an arcana card, but then realize I played illegally?
A:
Announce this to your allies. Leave the illegally played fate on the table, discard the fate in your hand, and proceed to the Fade step, skipping the Predict and Resolve steps.

Q: What if I know someone can’t have a particular fate because I’m holding the last copy of that token?
A:
You may discard your fate to reveal its value to the group and influence their decision. If you don’t discard it, you must refrain from directly or indirectly revealing its value, even if this means allowing the group to make a prediction you know is incorrect.

Q: What are the “visible fates” that some powers refer to?
A:
A visible fate is any fate that is currently in front of an arcana card with its number showing.

 

Specific card questions

The Hours

"If you cannot play anywhere else, play one of your fates here. Then move it one card to the right."

Q: How does The Hours work?
A: The Hours is always the 5th card on the table, to the left of the 4 face-up arcana cards currently in play. You must play one of your 2 fates on The Hours if you cannot legally play either of your fates on any of the other 4 cards in play. If you can play anywhere else, you cannot play on The Hours.

Once you play a fate on The Hours, you then move that fate one card to the right, so that it is now in front of the leftmost arcana card (that is not The Hours). This happens even though that fate could not normally be placed in front of that arcana card. This may also cause that card to fade at the end of the turn.

The Hours card itself can never fade, as there will never be a fate in front of it at the end of a turn.

In order to help group remember that the active player played on The Hours, they can wait until the end of the turn before moving fates to the neighboring card.

The prophet

"Match: If one of your fates matches a visible fate, play your other fate here."

Q: How does The Prophet work?
A:
 Visible fates are those fates which have previously been played and are now in front of the 4 arcana cards currently in play. You may play a fate on The Prophet if and only if the other fate in your hand matches the value of one of these visible fates. If both fates in your hand match the values of visible fates, you may play either one on The Prophet.

For example, if the fates 1, 2, 6, and 6 are currently visible in front of arcana cards, and you are holding:

  • 2 and 5: You can play the 5 on The Prophet because your other fate matches the visible 2.
  • 2 and 6: You can play either of them on The Prophet because regardless of which one you play, the other one will match a visible fate.
  • 4 and 5: You cannot play either of them on The Prophet because regardless of which one you play, the other one will not match a visible fate.

The rider

"Unique: If both of your fates are unique from each other and all visible fates, play one of them here."

Q: How does The Rider work?
A: Visible fates are those fates which have previously been played and are now in front of the 4 arcana cards currently in play. You may play a fate in front of The Rider if and only if neither of your fates matches the value of any of these visible fates, and only if your 2 fates do not match each other's values.

For example, if the fates 1, 2, 6, and 6 are currently visible in front of arcana cards, and you are holding:

  • 2 and 5: You cannot play either of them on The Rider since your 2 matches the visible 2.
  • 6 and 6: You cannot play either of them on The Rider since your fates match each other.
  • 4 and 5: You can play either of them on The Rider because neither one matches the other or any visible fate.
 

Specific promo card questions

Card - Asunder v2s.png

Asunder

"Difference: If the difference between your fates is equal to a visible fate, play your higher fate here."

Q: How does Asunder work?
A:
Look at the fates in your hand and figure out the difference between them. Then look at all the fates in play and see if a visible fate has the same value as that difference. If one does, you can play one of your fates on Asunder.

For example, if the fates 1, 2, 6, and 6 are currently visible in front of arcana cards, and you are holding:

  • 2 and 5: The difference of your fates is 3, which is not a visible fate. You cannot play on Asunder.
  • 6 and 6: The difference of your fates is 0, which is not (and will never be) a visible fate. You cannot play on Asunder.
  • 4 and 5: The difference of your fates is 1, which is a visible fate. You can play on Asunder.

The Feast

"Draw: Play one of your fates here, draw a fate, and continue your turn. You may not play here again."

Q: How does The Feast work?
A:
 The Feast allows you to "cycle" one of your fates, getting rid of it for a chance at something better. It's not very useful by itself; instead, use it if you have no good play on any other arcana cards, and you think playing on The Feast may allow you to get a better pair of fates for playing elsewhere.

For example, say that you are holding a 1 and a 7, and The Feast and Midnight ("Lower") are in play.

  • You could play your 1 on Midnight, but this won't tell your allies much.
  • You play your 1 on The Feast instead and draw a new fate. It's a 6! You're now holding a 6 and a 7.
  • You play your 6 on Midnight, giving your allies a lot of information about your remaining fate.

Some additional things to keep in mind:

  • Once per turn: Remember that you can only play on The Feast once per turn, so if you draw new fates that still aren't very good, you'll have to live with them.
  • Fading: If The Feast gains enough fates in front of it to cause it to fade, it fades at the end of the turn along with any other cards that fade this turn. Depending on where else you play after playing on The Feast, you may actually cause multiple cards to fade in a single turn!
  • The Hours: If you play on The Feast, but the new fate you draw doesn't allow you to play on any of the 3 other arcana cards, you'll have to play on The Hours. You can't play on The Feast again. If The Feast is next to The Hours, the fate you play on The Hours will still slide over onto The Feast.

 

Card - Fortune v2s.png

Fortune

"High Odds: If your fates are unequal and both odd, play your higher fate here. If only one is odd, play your lower fate here."

Q: How does Fortune work?
A:
 What fate you're allowed to play on Fortune changes based on what fates you have.

  • If both of your fates have the same value, you can't play on Fortune.
  • If both of your fates have even values, you can't play on Fortune.
  • If both of your fates have odd values, you can play your higher fate on Fortune.
  • If one of your fates has an odd value (and the other is even), you can play your lower fate on Fortune.

For example, if you are holding:

  • Two 1s: Your fates are the same, so you cannot play on Fortune.
  • A 2 and a 4: Both your fates are even, so you cannot play on Fortune.
  • A 3 and a 7: Both your fates are odd, so you can play your higher fate (7) on Fortune.
  • A 3 and a 6: Exactly one of your fates is odd, so you can play your lower fate (3) on Fortune.
  • A 2 and a 5: Exactly one of your fates is odd, so you can play your lower fate (2) on Fortune.

Q: What does this mean for my allies?
A:
Fortune can feel overwhelming, but it's actually very helpful. Consider what your allies will see:

  • If you play an odd fate on Fortune, your allies know it has to be your higher fate (if your other fate is odd) or your lower fate (if your other fate is even).
    • Your remaining fate can be any of the higher even numbers or any of the lower odd numbers than the one you played. It can't be the same as the odd number you played.
  • If you play an even fate on Fortune, it has to be your lower fate. Your allies know that you had one odd and one even fate, so your remaining fate must be odd. Additionally, because you played your lower fate, your remaining fate is higher.
    • Your remaining fate must be odd and higher than the one you played.
Card - Ghost v2s.png

The ghost

"Alone: If no visible fate is exactly 1 more or 1 less than either of your fates, play one of them here."

Q: How does The Ghost work?
A:
 Look at each of your fates and see if any visible fate is 1 more or 1 less than it. If the answer is ever yes, you can't play on The Ghost. However, if you can't find any visible fate that's 1 more or 1 less than either of your fates, you may play either of your fates on The Ghost.

For example, if the fates 1, 2, 6, and 6 are currently visible in front of arcana cards, and you are holding:

  • 2 and 5: The visible fate 1 is 1 less than your 2, and the visible fate(s) 6 are both 1 higher than your 5. You cannot play on The Ghost.
  • 3 and 4: The visible fate 2 is 1 less than your 3. You cannot play on The Ghost.
  • 4 and 4: The only visible fates that would be 1 more or 1 less than 4 would be 3 and 5. Neither of those is visible, so you can play either of your 4s in front of The Ghost.
    • When you do, your allies can immediately conclude that your remaining fate is not 1 more or 1 less than any of the visible fates. This means you can't have:
      • 1 +1: Rules out 2.
      • 2 +1 or -1: Rules out 1 and 3.
      • 6 +1 or -1: Rules out 5 and 7.
    • Collectively, they've ruled out 1, 2, 3, 5, and 7. So you must have either a 4 or 6. Not bad!

Iron

"Rising: If one of your fates is higher than my highest visible fate, play your other fate here."

Q: How does Iron work?
A:
 Iron is all about building upon the fates that have already been played in front of Iron.

  • If there are no visible fates in front of Iron: Any fate in your hand will be playable on Iron.
    • Example: There are no fates in front of Iron, and you have a 1 and a 2 in your hand. You may play either fate in front of Iron. Your allies will not be able to deduce anything about your remaining fate from this play alone.
  • If there are one or more visible fates in front of Iron: Look at the fates in your hand to see if one of your fates is higher than the highest visible fate in front of Iron. If one of yours is higher, you may play the other fate in your hand on Iron.
    • Example: If there is a 1 and a 3 in front of Iron, and you are holding a 2 and a 6, you may play the 2 in front of Iron because your other fate (6) is higher than Iron's highest fate (3). You may not play the 6 because your other fate (2) is not higher than Iron's highest fate (3).
    • Example: If there is a 1 and a 3 in front of Iron, and you are holding a 5 and a 6, you may play either of your fates in front of Iron, because no matter which one you play your remaining fate will still be higher than Iron's highest fate (3).
  • If there is a single 7 in front of Iron: No more fates can be played on Iron! If this happens, Iron will never fade because additional fates will never be able to be played in front of it. It effectively becomes a dead card in your 4th arcana card slot. However, if Iron is next to The Hours, it may still fade when fate slides off of The Hours and onto Iron.
    • Example: If there is a single 7 in front of Iron, and you have two 7s in your hand, you cannot play on Iron because neither of your fates is higher than the highest fate in front of Iron (7).

The passage

"Between: If exactly one visible fate falls between your fates, play one of them here."

Q: How does The Passage work?
A:
 If only one visible value (which might appear on more than one visible fate) falls between your two fates' values, then you can play one of your fates on The Passage. Look at each visible fate value and ask "Is that value higher than one of my fates, and lower than the other?" If the answer is "Yes," then that value falls between your two fates. If no visible values fall between your fates, or if two or more visible values fall between your fates, then you can't play on The Passage.

For example, if the fates 1, 2, 6, and 6 are currently visible in front of arcana cards, and you are holding:

  • 2 and 5: The values 3 and 4 would fall between your fates, but neither one is visible. You cannot play on The Passage.
  • 1 and 7: The values 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6 would fall between your fates. Both 2 and 6 are visible. Since more than 1 visible value currently falls between your fates, you cannot play on The Passage.
  • 2 and 7: The values 3, 4, 5, and 6 would fall between your fates. Only the value 6 is visible (on two different fates). Since exactly one visible value (6) falls between your fates, you may play either of your fates on The Passage.
    • If you play the 2 on The Passage, your allies will know that exactly 1 visible fate value must fall between 2 and your remaining fate. Looking at the visible values, they deduce whether that value might be the one that falls between your fates:
      • 1? If this feel between your 2 and your other fate, your other fate would have to be lower than 1. That's impossible, so this isn't the one that's between your fates.
      • 2? 2 can't fall between 2 and anything else, since it's neither higher nor lower than 2.
      • 6? This is the only option left, and it could fall between your fates is one of them (2) was lower than 6, and the other (?) was higher than 6. In this case, that means your other fate must be a 7, since no other value would be higher than 6. Nice!