Nine worlds hang from Ashgallow's boughs, waiting to be found...
Realms are new worlds where reality itself has warped and blossomed. Up becomes down, sky becomes sea, and dreams become truth. Visit them to experience Norsaga with new twists on the basic rules.
Welcome, traveler - At the start of the game, deal a realm card face-up in the center of the table. Each realm describes new or altered rules which affect how the game plays out.
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
Q: In the Ether, what happens if I discard a card with multiple colors (such as a legend)?
A: It can contribute towards activating any 1st generation embellishment that shares a color with it. For example:
- Discarding a legend hero would allow you to use any 1st generation Might, Craft, Lore, or Faith embellishment.
- Discarding a hybrid ghost/skald would allow you to use the 1st generation Doom embellishment.
Q: In the Ether, can I discard ghosts or fae to use their 1st generation embellishments?
A: Yes! You can do these things!
Q: In Veldspar, how do I know if I qualify for the free embellishment?
A: Your family tree must contain:
- a hero whose dominant color is red;
- a hero whose dominant color is green;
- a hero whose dominant color is blue;
- and a hero whose dominant color is yellow.
They don't have to be 4 different heroes, though. For example, if you have a cleansed blue Heirloom which is making your youngest hero blue as well as red, that covers 2 of the 4 colors you need.
Q: In Veldspar, what embellishments can I use for free?
A: Any embellishments you would normally qualify for at the time, based on the current heroes in your family tree.
Q: In Sulfrit, can I use a 3rd generation embellishment even if neither of my 2nd generation heroes has that dominant color?
A: Yes, as long as your 2nd generation heroes share a matched recessive trait of the appropriate color. For example, if:
- your youngest hero is red,
- your 2nd generation heroes share a matched red recessive trait,
- and you have a red 3rd generation hero,
...you would be able to use 1st, 2nd, or 3rd generation Might embellishments. Likewise, if you had no red 3rd generation heroes, but had a pair of 3rd generation heroes sharing a matched red recessive, you would still qualify for 3rd generation Might embellishments.
Q: In Undrift, do I have to move a hero to a later generation after embellishing?
A: Yes; it's not optional. However, don't forget that the move occurs after embellishing and before playing a card, so you'll then have a chance to refill the spot you moved the hero out of.
Q: In Undrift, do I have to move a hero to a later generation if I choose not to embellish?
A: Yes. The move occurs after the Embellish step of your turn, regardless of whether or not you chose to use an embellishment during that step.
Q: In Undrift, if I play a skald to grant me an extra embellishment, do I then have to move a hero afterwards?
A: No. You must only move a hero once each turn, right after your Embellish step. No other embellishments cause you to have to move heroes.
Even if you manage to play a skald out during your embellishment step, you still won't have to move a 2nd hero that turn.
Q: In Undrift, if my family tree has no empty spots, do I have to move a hero?
Q: In Greyhame, how do I win?
A: You still win by slotting all of your saga's inheritance markers into dominant and recessive traits on your family tree. However, as you remove markers from the game using Greyhame's ability, you no longer need to slot those markers into heroes to win. This means you can win with fewer and fewer traits actually slotted into your heroes.
Q: In Greyhame, when can I remove an inheritance marker from the game?
A: Any time a matched recessive trait on your own family tree is broken during your own turn. For example:
- If you use the 1st generation Might embellishment (Adapt) to replace a hero with another, and the replaced hero was contributing to a matched recessive trait, then the inheritance marker slotted into that matched trait can be removed from the game.
- If you use the 2nd generation Craft embellishment (Turncoat) to take back a hero from your tree, and that hero was part of a matched recessive, then you can remove that marker from the game.
- If another player plays a ghost onto a hero on your tree during their turn, then you will not get to remove any markers from the game, even if the ghost causes you to dismiss a hero that was contributing to a matched recessive.
- If another player somehow plays a ghost onto your tree during your turn (for example, you play a skald onto their tree, which allows them to use Offering to play a ghost onto your tree...), and it breaks a matched recessive, then you can remove that marker from the game.
Q: In Greyhame, if I play a new hero on top of an old hero, but they have the same recessive trait, can I still remove an inheritance marker?
A: Yes. For example, if you have a matched red recessive trait in your 2nd generation, and you play a new hero atop one of those heroes, the trait is broken -- even if the new hero has a red recessive. Think of it as breaking and immediately recreating the matched recessive.
Q: In Nil, do my 2nd and 3rd generation ghosts and fae count as colored heroes?
A: Yes. Every ghost and fae card in a 2nd or 3rd generation spot counts as being all 4 basic colors in addition to its regular color. For example, a ghost would be black, red, green, blue, and yellow.
Keep this in mind when using embellishments that care about cards' colors, such as Infiltrate (3rd generation Craft embellishment).
Q: I want to play with more than one realm! Is that cool?
A: It's crazy, but we won't stop you. Worlds have been known to collide!